Day 35 in #100daysofcode challenge

Day 35 in #100daysofcode challenge

·

2 min read

Hello, today is Day 34 and I had very limited time, so utilizing it to its fullest ... I practicing coding that is included in my curriculum. Let's jump to my learnings.

What did I learn?

Theory of Hashing:

Index Mapping:

Index Mapping is a simple form of hashing where the data is directly mapped to an index in a hash table. The hash function used in this method is typically the identity function, which maps the input data to itself. In this case, the key of the data is used as the index in the hash table, and the value is stored at that index.

Collision Handling :

Since a hash function gets us a small number for a key which is a big integer or string, there is a possibility that two keys result in the same value. The situation where a newly inserted key maps to an already occupied slot in the hash table is called collision, and these collisions need to be handled.

Double Hashing:

Double hashing is a collision resolution technique used in hash tables. It works by using two hash functions to compute two different hash values for a given key.

I guess we are done for today, wish me luck for my next exam. thank you for reading the blog, Have a nice Day!